"العالم المترابط" هو فيلم من أربعة أجزاء عن صندوق النقد الدولي والأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية.

نحن في حاجة إلى نظام أفضل للحوكمة متعددة الأطراف. وما لم نحصل على هذا النظام، فسوف يدفع أبناؤنا وأحفادنا الثمن. — محمد العريان، المسؤول التنفيذي الأول في مؤسسة بيمكو

تناقش أفلام الفيديو الأربعة كيف يتشكل النظام الاقتصادي العالمي حاليا نتيجة الأزمة العالمية، كما تتناول بزوغ نجم آسيا وما له من انعكاسات على بقية العالم، وكيف يؤثر اكتشاف النفط على أحد البلدان منخفضة الدخل في إفريقيا، وتحول بلد في أوروبا الشرقية من الشيوعية إلى اقتصاد السوق والانضمام إلى عضوية الاتحاد الأوروبي.

أنشئ صندوق النقد الدولي لدعم الاقتصاد العالمي وتشجيع السلم في أعقاب الدمار الذي خلفته الحرب العالمية الثانية. ولا تزال هذه المؤسسة الدولية تمر بتغيرات سريعة لمواجهة تحديات القرن الحادي والعشرين، كما اضطلعت بدور حيوي في مساعدة البلدان على التعامل مع الأزمة المالية العالمية.

الموارد

من الأزمة إلى التعاون

نعيش حاليا في عالم يزداد تأثرا بتوجهات العولمة. فالروابط الاقتصادية والمالية التي تجمع بيننا عادت بنفع كبير على الناس في مختلف أنحاء العالم، ولكنها لم تخلُ أيضا من الآثار المزعزعة للاستقرار.

ونتعرف في هذا الفيلم على صندوق النقد الدولي ودوره أثناء الأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية التي تسببت في انهيار الاقتصاد العالمي. فقد حالت الإجراءات المنسقة التي قام بها قادة العالم دون حدوث كساد كبير مرة ثانية، ولكن ما الاحتمالات المتوقعة في المستقبل بالنسبة للتعاون متعدد الأطراف؟

معظم الناس يعرفون قصة الفراشة التي تطير في إفريقيا فتُحْدِث إعصارا في أمريكا اللاتينية، وهذه هي خلاصة المسألة إلى حد كبير. — أوليفييه بلانشار، كبير اقتصاديي صندوق النقد الدولي

The Interconnected World is a film in four parts about the International Monetary Fund and the global economic crisis.

We need better multilateral governance. And if we don’t get it, our children and our grandchildren are going to pay the cost of that. — Mohamed El-Erian, CEO of PIMCO

The four videos discuss how the world economic order is being shaped by the global crisis, the rise of Asia and the implications for the rest of the world, how the discovery of oil is affecting a low-income country in Africa, and the transition of a country in Eastern Europe from communism to a market economy and membership of the European Union.

The IMF was established to foster economic stability and promote peace following the devastation of World War II. This global financial institution has been undergoing rapid change to meet the challenges of the 21st century, and played a vital role in helping countries deal with the international crisis.

Resources

From Crisis to Cooperation

We live in an increasingly globalized world. The economic and financial linkages which bind us together have brought substantial benefits to people around the world, but they have also had destabilizing effects.

In this film, we hear about the IMF and its role during the global economic crisis that brought the world economy to its knees. Concerted action by world leaders averted a second Great Depression, but what are the future prospects for multilateral cooperation?

Most people know the story of flight of the butterfly in Africa leading to a tornado in Latin America, and that's very much what this is about. — Olivier Blanchard, Chief Economist, IMF